Français | English | Deutsch


International Watchmaking Museum


Musée international d'horlogerie

An impressing collection of the most striking masterpieces of watchmaking over the centuries, a history of the measurement of time, an architecture that constitutes a superb setting: the museum is a "must" for anyone wishing to understand the genius behind watchmaking.

Musée international d'horlogerie
Rue des Musées 29
2300 La Chaux-de-Fonds

Fine arts museum


Musée des beaux arts

An industrial city, yet a city of art. A visit to the Fine Arts Museum in La Chaux-de-Fonds is a must for those wishing to discover the artistic talent of both local creators and those from further afield: from Léopold Robert to Le Corbusier, and including works from the art nouveau period and by contemporary artists.

Musée des beaux arts
Rue des Musées 33
2300 La Chaux-de-Fonds

Architecture - Le Corbusier


Born on 6 October 1887 in La Chaux-de-Fonds, Charles-Edouard Jeanneret adopted the pseudonym of Le Corbusier - inspired by the name of his maternal great-grandfather Mr. Lecorbésier - in 1920. He entered the city's school of art in 1902 to train as an engraver, but Charles L'Eplattenier, one of his teachers, steered him towards architecture: a profession he was to discover during several stays in Paris, Vienna, Berlin and his journies to the South and the East (1907 and 1911). During the 1920s, he became one of the most influential architects and urban planners of his century. He was made a citizen of honour of the city where he was born in 1957, and died on 27 August 1965. Anyone wishing to get to grips with Le Corbusier's work as an architect, town planner, artist, sculptor and writer, should follow in the masters footsteps in La Chaux-de-Fonds and Le Locle, and soak up the unique urban and aesthetic character of these two towns.

Français | English | Deutsch


Musée international d'horlogerie


Musée international d'horlogerie

Une collection impressionnante des plus belles pièces de l'horlogerie au fil des siècles, une histoire de la mesure du temps, une architecture comme un écrin, le MIH est une étape indispensable pour ceux qui veulent comprendre le génie horloger.

Musée international d'horlogerie
Rue des Musées 29
2300 La Chaux-de-Fonds

Musée des beaux arts


Musée des beaux arts

Ville industrielle, La Chaux-de-Fonds est aussi une ville d'art; un détour par le Musée des beaux-arts s'impose pour découvrir les génies du lieu et d'ailleurs; de Léopold Robert à Le Corbusier, en passant par l'Art nouveau et les artistes contemporains.

Musée des beaux arts
Rue des Musées 33
2300 La Chaux-de-Fonds

Architecture - Le Corbusier


Né le 6 octobre 1887 à La Chaux-de-Fonds, Charles-Edouard Jeanneret prend en 1920 le pseudonyme de Le Corbusier, déformation du nom de l'arrière-grand-père maternel, Monsieur Lecorbésier. En 1902, il entre à l'Ecole d'art de la ville pour devenir graveur, mais l'un de ses professeurs, Charles L'Eplattenier l'oriente vers l'architecture, qu'il va découvrir à l'occasion de plusieurs séjours à Paris, Vienne, Berlin et lors de ses deux voyages en Italie (1907) et en Orient (1911). Il devient dès les années vingt l'un des architectes et urbanistes les plus influents de son siècle. Il est nommé citoyen d'honneur de sa ville natale en 1957 et meurt le 27 août 1965. Qui veut comprendre l'oeuvre de Le Corbusier, comme architecte, urbaniste, peintre, sculpteur et homme de lettre également, doit suivre les premiers pas du maître à La Chaux-de-Fonds et au Locle et s'imprégner du caractère urbanistique et esthétique particulier des deux villes.