Français | English | Deutsch


International Watchmaking Museum


Musée international d'horlogerie

An impressing collection of the most striking masterpieces of watchmaking over the centuries, a history of the measurement of time, an architecture that constitutes a superb setting: the museum is a "must" for anyone wishing to understand the genius behind watchmaking.

Musée international d'horlogerie
Rue des Musées 29
2300 La Chaux-de-Fonds

Fine arts museum


Musée des beaux arts

An industrial city, yet a city of art. A visit to the Fine Arts Museum in La Chaux-de-Fonds is a must for those wishing to discover the artistic talent of both local creators and those from further afield: from Léopold Robert to Le Corbusier, and including works from the art nouveau period and by contemporary artists.

Musée des beaux arts
Rue des Musées 33
2300 La Chaux-de-Fonds

Architecture - Le Corbusier


Born on 6 October 1887 in La Chaux-de-Fonds, Charles-Edouard Jeanneret adopted the pseudonym of Le Corbusier - inspired by the name of his maternal great-grandfather Mr. Lecorbésier - in 1920. He entered the city's school of art in 1902 to train as an engraver, but Charles L'Eplattenier, one of his teachers, steered him towards architecture: a profession he was to discover during several stays in Paris, Vienna, Berlin and his journies to the South and the East (1907 and 1911). During the 1920s, he became one of the most influential architects and urban planners of his century. He was made a citizen of honour of the city where he was born in 1957, and died on 27 August 1965. Anyone wishing to get to grips with Le Corbusier's work as an architect, town planner, artist, sculptor and writer, should follow in the masters footsteps in La Chaux-de-Fonds and Le Locle, and soak up the unique urban and aesthetic character of these two towns.

Français | English | Deutsch


Internationales Uhrenmuseum


Musée international d'horlogerie

Dieses Museum ist unumgänglich für alle, die die faszinierende Welt der Uhren verstehen wollen: eine beeindruckende Sammlung der schönsten Uhren aus allen Jahrhunderten, die Geschichte der Zeit und eine Architektur, die an eine Uhrenschatulle erinnert.

Musée international d'horlogerie
Rue des Musées 29
2300 La Chaux-de-Fonds

Kunstmuseum


Musée des beaux arts

La Chaux-de-Fonds bietet nicht nur Industrie, sondern auch Kunst. Ein Abstecher ins Kunstmuseum lohnt sich auf jeden Fall, um lokale und andere Künstler - von Léopold Robert über den Jugendstil und zeitgenössische Kunst bis zu Le Corbusier - kennenzulernen.

Musée des beaux arts
Rue des Musées 33
2300 La Chaux-de-Fonds

Architektur - Le Corbusier


Charles-Edouard Jeanneret wird am 6. Oktober 1887 in La Chaux-de-Fonds geboren. Sein Pseudonym Le Corbusier nimmt er 1920 in Anlehnung an Monsieur Lecorbésier, seinen Urgrossvater mütterlicherseits an. 1902 beginnt er eine Lehre zum Graveur an der Städtischen Kunstgewerbeschule. Unter dem Einfluss seines Lehrers Charles L'Eplattenier wendet er sich der Architektur zu, die er später bei Aufenthalten in Paris, Wien, Berlin und während seinen Orientreisen (1907 und 1911) entdeckt hatte. Ab den Zwanzigerjahren zählt er zu den einflussreichsten Architekten und Urbanisten des 20. Jahrhunderts. 1957 ernennt man ihn zum Ehrenbürger seiner Geburtsstadt; er stirbt am 27. August 1965 in Südfrankreich. Will man Le Corbusiers Werk auch als Architekt, Urbanist, Maler, Bildhauer und Literat begreifen, sollte man - auf den Spuren des Meisters in La Chaux-de-Fonds und Le Locle wandelend - in die spezifische urbanistische und ästhetische Sphäre beider Städte eintauchen.